13 month old not finishing tracks

Talk about Bear Hunting
coyotesrus
Facebook ID: 0

13 month old not finishing tracks

Postby coyotesrus » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:29 am

Ok so I'm relatively new to the running dog and hound dog world. I've had coyote dogs for 12 years and been bear hunting with dogs for 4 years. I've got a13 month old dog that's taken up to a 10 hour old track off the baits like a pro but then somewhere about 3 miles later the dogs will make a small loss and he literally turns around and comes back to where he started. He came back 4 out of 5 times I turned him out this last weekend. The 1 other time he ran with 2 other dogs 5 miles and treed the bear for 20 min. Then one of the dogs left the tree. So he left and came all the way back. We hunt real big rough sections so can't get to the tree sometimes for an hour. Anyway any advice from this awesome website would be greatly appreciated. He doesn't bark a lick that I know of coming back.(Lack of confidence?)
chilcotin hillbilly
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth
Facebook ID: 100003065741116

Re: 13 month old not finishing tracks

Postby chilcotin hillbilly » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:44 am

that small loss could easily be making contact with the bear. there are a lot of dogs that won't stay with a bear alone at that age. This would make a little more sense. Bears usually don't put a lot of miles on this time of year if the berries are good. As far as treeing you may need better tree power to keep him there.I would not run him with the one that left the tree, in fact if that one dog makes it a habit I would cull and run your dog with better hounds.
www.skinnercreekhunts.com
Home of the Chilcotin Treeing Piss Hounds
coyotesrus

Postby coyotesrus » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:43 pm