how do foxes run?

Share your hunts and discuss your dogs
beaglewalkerhunter4
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

how do foxes run?

Postby beaglewalkerhunter4 » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:59 pm

Iv been on a few runs with foxes but had to call off the dog because of private property roads ect. but i have gotten permission from a buddy of mine to hunt his property which has alot of swamp. Also hard woods, and open fields. and my question is what is the common pattern a fox runs? i know i probably opened up a big can of worms but il try and be specific... does it circle a few times? if so how large are the circles? does it depend on the fox, the pressure from the dog? also where and when are my best chances to find a fox, my hound is medium nosed and moves a track pretty fast. im just a newbie as you can guess and any pointers would help me out.. thanks in advance and happy huntin' Jon McMillan.
Hike in, tie em back, hike out.
Dan Edwards
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Re: how do foxes run?

Postby Dan Edwards » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:48 am

Yes, they circle. Greys circle smaller than reds and are much slower but are still "crafty". Fast dogs will put them in a hole quickly but slower dogs can run some reds all night long. Sometimes a red will take your dogs on a cross country tour just like a coyote.
Lynxhunter
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

Postby Lynxhunter » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:16 pm

Never hunted fox in the US, but I would guess a red fox will run aprox. the same over there as they do here.

Red fox do most of the time circle. If you run a lot in the same are and run into some old ones you'll probably be able to recognise them after their running pattern. Young fox will be more alike in their running pattern and older ones will develop their own specialities.