Treed

A Place to talk about hunting Bobcats, Lynx.
Bluedog88
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

Treed

Postby Bluedog88 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:08 am

What do you do when the cats treed in a huge thick pine and climbs up so far you can't see it anymore?
catdog360
Open Mouth
Open Mouth

Re: Treed

Postby catdog360 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 2:33 am

Pet the dogs and tell them they did a great job and go tree another one. Feeling pleased that you know you'll get to catch that one over and over again.
david
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Postby david » Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:15 am

Bluedog, catdog 360 has the best answer.

Hopefully you are not as stupid or as desperate as I was. But if I had been beating my brains out for 18 months trying to tree my first or second or tenth cat, and that happened when I was young and strong, I would be up that tree with my camera or my gun. I have a few different memories of that actually.

You can climb right past the cat and not know it though. They are not necessarily close to the trunk.

Probably my favorite all time cat hunting memory was climbing up an adjacent tree, and looking across a sea of snow covered treetops. The two tallest trees were the one I was in and the one he was in. It was an amazing sight to a usually frustrated kid trying to train up some cat dogs. I will never forget it.

That time, I chose a different tree because I did not want the cat to jump out.

But If the tree the cat was in was impossible to climb, and there was a good climbing tree near it, I would climb just hoping for an angle to study the cat tree from. Sometimes it didn’t work, but sometimes it worked awesome.

If the cat tree was on a very steep slope, I would climb the slope and standing on the ground, try to find openings to look at the tree straight across; And then pick a good climber from that elevated view if I had to climb.

When it works it is fun to be looking straight across at the cat at the same elevation as you.